Xenophilia (True Strange Stuff)

The blog of Xeno, a slightly mad scientist

Elton John: “I’m lucky to be alive after operation”

Elton John has said he is “lucky to be alive” after an operation that stopped appendicitis from killing him.

The singer said his appendicitis, which was initially misdiagnosed, stopped him from performing at several concerts last summer.

He told The Mail on Sunday’s Event magazine: “I’m lucky I’m still alive. I started feeling ill 14 days before I went into hospital.”

The “Rocket Man” singer initially thought the pain he was experiencing was just food poisoning because it came on so quickly.

“It felt like a crippling stomach pain and at first I thought it was food poisoning, but it didn’t go away. I called a doctor out but he thought – and I thought – it was just a virus. But I had a performance that night and I went on stage feeling as if I had been hit by a truck.”

But the pain increased and left him unable to move. He was forced to cancel several performances last summer including a headline concert at Hyde Park.

Once doctors had correctly diagnosed appendicitis he was rushed to hospital for treatment.

An intense work schedule meant his constant traveling and performing was making the problem worse:

“Every time I stepped on a plane I was basically turning myself into a ticking time-bomb. Air pressure is one of the worst environments for causing the abscess and the appendix to burst.”…

http://www.gaystarnews.com/article/elton-john-%E2%80%98im-lucky-be-alive-after-operation090913

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 9, 2013 by in Health, Popular Culture.
