Xenophilia (True Strange Stuff)

Blog of the real Xenophilius Lovegood, a slightly mad scientist

Xeno’s Daily Strange News Awards Blog

Posted by Anonymous on February 28, 2011

Welcome. There are over 13,000 posts here and over 11,000 comments. Note: Content in a dotted line box is a quoted excerpt. Click the link to view the entire original article. Click « Previous Entries or browse the calendar. Comments are now moderated due to excessive spam.


36 Responses to “Xeno’s Daily Strange News Awards Blog”

  1. Patrick said

    Hi, Xeno. Do you by any chance know of a site, or a way that I can choose the news that I want to read?
    Isn’t there a site for serious news? Where I dont have to read entertainment news or box-office receipts or stories about kidnapped girls in the swamp?
    This is random, I know. I just find that your site is the first site I go to in the morning, and then I head to BBC Science and the NY TIMES but even with those I have to wade through the drek.
    Google news too, only let’s you select news to a certain extent.
    Just wondering.
    Thanks!
    P

    • Xeno said

      Hi Patrick,
      Since we all have different interests the best we can do is approximate, but RSS news feeds are great. I use several to quickly find the stories to post here.

      Here is mine:Last 10 Xenophilius Posts (RSS)

      Directions for Firefox: Click the link, then click Subscribe. You should then have the RSS feed in your bookmarks toolbar. Example here. Then you can click the feed and see the new topics I post (usually daily).

      If you have a large number of feeds, try an RSS feed aggregator. This way you can avoid the swamp girls.

      • Patrick said

        Thanks! I think I remember seeing some desktop graphic with a bunch of rss feeds in a sorta dna helix pattern but that may have been at the mac store.
        Much appreciated! Keep up the great work!

  2. Hillbilly Hick said

    I saw Bigfoot once. 1951, back in Sequoia National Park. Had a foot on him thirty-seven inches heel to toe. It made a sound I would not want to hear twice in my life.

    • Xeno said

      How close were you? How long did you watch him? What was he doing? What physical details to you recall? Can you describe the sound? Did he see you? Was he partly invisible? (I ask because a researcher who has written to me believes based on several reports of people seeing “parts only” that bigfoot has evolved a natural camouflage that is almost like an invisibility cloak. It may kick in when danger is present.

      • Biff Tannen said

        Helllooo McFly,

        “I saw Bigfoot once. 1951, back in Sequoia National Park. Had a foot on him thirty-seven inches heel to toe. It made a sound I would not want to hear twice in my life.”

        A quote from the 1977 movie “Close Encounters Of The Third Kind”.

        Think McFly, think…! Google or Wikiquote something before you seriously respond or the joke’s on you. Now I have got to make like a tree and get out of here.

        Biff

      • Xeno said

        Niiiice. Thanks Biff, Xeno got punk’d. Heh.

  3. pyrodin said

    Well, I bet the military would love to get their hands on him too!

  4. Cole said

    Hey Xeno, look at this:

    http://www.streetviewfun.com/2009/wasnt-the-stonehenge-natural/

    Doesn’t that look like Stonehenge is made of metal covered with concrete? What could this mean do you think? :(

    • Xeno said

      Good find Cole! My first thought is that there was some restoration done and that is what the iron looking stuff under the stone is. The could have built something to get the remaining stone to stand up as it was originally intended… anyone know for certain?

      • Cole said

        You can also move around in Street View for different angles.

        Yes, that is possible that it is a support. But then, it looks like the rock is actually folding around it from all angles, so unless the pressure from it made it start to sag somehow, I have no idea.

        By the way, if people find strange things like this, here should we put them? I put it as a comment here because I was unsure what else to do.

      • Cole said

        Wait, could it have anything to do with this?

        http://www.ufos-aliens.co.uk/cosmicstonehenge.htm

      • Xeno said

        Wow! Thanks for that link… Veeeery interesting, Cole. Looks like my guess about restoration was right, but I didn’t know it was little known … I wonder how much the original placement of the stones was changed… There could have been a different meaning … More or less like a planetarium, or calendar, etc….

      • Cole said

        Yeah, how much of the original purpose is now lost to history?

  5. pyrodin said

    there’s a replica of it somewhere around Hunt Texas-fyi

  6. Cole said

    As of right now you have exactly 800 pages of posts on here. :)

  7. Sophie said

    Hello Xeno,

    I am writing to ask if I have your permission to use the following photo (http://xenophilius.files.wordpress.com/2008/09/exercise.jpg) as part of a research poster presentation on the benefits of exercise for anxiety disorders.

    I am an MSc Occupational Therapy student, therefore I will not be making money from this research. I am hoping to deliver this presentation at a conference. The photo will be referenced within the poster with ‘kind permission given’.

    Please let me know

    I Look forward to hearing from you.

    Warm Regards

    Sophie Kennish

    PS It’s not like it was in the old days when you could just use clip art.

    MSc OT Student, UEA, Norwich
    s[dot]kennish[at]uea.ac.uk

  8. Cole said

    Aha! I found it! I found the comment button. I’m sorry, this skin is really confusing. The one right before this was at least ok, I could find my way around, but the original one was great.

  9. arjay001 said

    Grats!!
    Must be the old/new skin or is it the new/old skin? I wanted to ask how the chat worked out? I left a few tells. I invisioned hundreds of notes every day waiting for you. It wouldn’t be like that if you only had a few followers. But…

    ” #1, #3 & #4 slots today on the Google search for “best strange news blog”… out of 15.6 million pages. Neat.”

    Pretty neat!

    Time to sell some ad space??

    Take care
    RJ

    • Xeno said

      I was just wondering today how much money I’m not making by not selling ad space.

      Luckily, because I am descended from kings, ha ha, no, actually because my palladium investments are doing so well, I don’t need the money and I very much like having a blog with zero ads… other than very rarely, for products or companies I respect, I will sell a few links in words of an article.

      About twice a year an advertiser will make me an offer I can’t refuse and I’ll take the money and help a friend who lost a job or something.

      Mostly the chat I put up resulted in a lot of “hi” and “test” messages, too many keep up with in real time. I got some great stories, however, when I asked people to post the strangest thing that ever happened to them. That was fun.

      - Xeno

  10. So you dont know using tag…? best all

  11. Xen said

    Hi Xeno,

    How do you pronounce your name? I hear the incorrect ‘Zee-no’ instead of the correct ‘Zeh-no’ more frequently. FYI: The original greek is pronounced with the x in tact as ‘kseh-no.’

    What if it was just Xen. Wouldn’t it be pronounced ‘Zen’ not ‘Zeen’

    Regards,

    Jimbo.

  12. You were visited by remarkable thought

  13. Cole said

    Hey, Xeno. I don’t know what caused it, or if you knew about it; but since the beginning of September whenever I tried to visit your blog, WordPress would tell me it was suspended or archived due to a violation of ToS. It just let me back on tonight. It seems you’ve been posting with no trouble; just wanted to see if you know what that was about. Good to have you back.

    • Xeno said

      Oh weird, thanks. WordPress has some real problems with their automated suspension system. My site has been wrongly suspended and then re-instated so many times I stopped counting. If I notice it is suspended, I get right on it by emailing them and submitting forms. I didn’t even know it was possible for me to see the blog and (some?) of you to get the Suspended message. Did you try hitting reload in your browser? Depending on your ISP and settings, you may see an old version of a web site until you reload/refresh.

      • Cole said

        I always tried reloading it a few times, and I tried visiting almost every day since it started to see if it would be fixed. I have no idea what happened. I’m glad it’s fixed now. I was afraid maybe you were banned for good or something, and had given up, because none of your other websites mentioned the suspension. It makes sense now that they wouldn’t if you didn’t know. Oh well, I skimmed through and got up-to-date. :)

      • Xeno said

        Hi Cole, Thanks for sticking with me! I intend to keep blogging as long as I’m able, and I’d like to live past 100 years old so there is a lot of ground to cover. If you ever can’t view the blog, drop me a line at xeno735@yahoo.com and I’ll get on it.

  14. Craig T said

    This narrative details the devolution of my Human Rights caused by my new neighbors’ sadistic desire to derail my life. I noticed new people moving into the vacant unit next door and hoped they turned out less rowdy than the previous tenants. Soon after I began hearing bits and pieces of them speaking about intimate details of my life they should not know. I eventually realized this loud commenting on my life was an intentional method of harassing me. They enjoy observing the frantic emotional condition their behavior induces. When I was in the kitchen they begin speaking loudly about several degrading private details and habits in my life like how I vomit after every meal. This happens during the preparation, cooking and eating of every meal. In the bathroom I always heard loud speaking about how disgusting person I was after knowing I could hear. Harassment every day intentionally This progressed to loud chants of physical bodily harm to me if I did what was needed to stop their harassment and threats thus their infringement of my Human Rights in my own home. I worked with building management to record the harassment which is required to document the seriousness of the harassment issue.
    I know there is a device being used to listen in on my activities at all times of the day and night while I am in my home and they in theirs next to me.
    Other examples are for instance Thanksgiving of 2011. My mother and I rent separate apartments in the same rental community. While I visited with her my neighbors deliberately used their device to taunt, intimidate and harass me into a psychiatric episode freaking out during diner. They were able to use my personal history, identity info like my social security number and Google and financial account info spoken in the discomfort of my own home as potent ammunition to drive me to the breaking point and beyond. This is one of the many times I felt afraid enough to contact the police department. I began to feel a sense they had infiltrated my mind as the harassment continued daily for 6 months.
    It is normal for me to hear a persistent chorus of chanted disturbing comments and ‘drive game’ tactics intended to make me uncomfortable every day. It is very hard to describe the depth of the feelings of disorientation, abnormality, suffering, emptiness, despair, anger, vexation and torment.
    These events have completely murdered my stability and shattered my sense of well being.
    My mind has been infiltrated by my neighbors who can’t keep from constantly dwelling in my head. They read every thought out loud as I think it. I hear them discussing my most intimate memories even when I do not actively think them. One example is I looked at a photo of a bird and heard them discussing the death of a pet bird years ago. this is one of many violations of my privacy. Every day of my life I listen to them use me as their reality show. I am 99.9% sure they are not psychic. They followed me around listening through the walls and spying through my windows for a couple months before I first noticed they are inside my head. Have you heard of this happening to anyone else before? I live each day listening to these persons picking apart every thought, decision, action, EVERYTHING. Even as I type I hear them reading what I write to you. I am also attacked from a distance. The police tell me this is Hollywood espionage stuff. I live every day with the neighbors who have no familial or other affiliation to me IN MY HEAD! Any advice or info that you have will be appreciated. They have destroyed my quality of life and have relished every second of it. Please help. I have no idea how to block or prove I am being violated every day. My fear is that I could be attacked for exposing their illegal stalking and harassment.
    I have not been able to obtain any assistance remedying this violation of my human rights and privacy while I am inside my own home. Their constant response to my pleas to cease these activities is that they can’t. The reason is they are addicted to spying and stalking me. I am very interesting and eccentric.

    I have been told directly that they are addicted to me and can’t stop using me as their only source of entertainment and engagement. I have been unable to find help or relief. I feel my actions have declared war.

    Craig Ty Thompson
    TyThompson.C@gmail.com
    [Address and phone removed. Please don't post personal identity information on this blog. Thanks. - Management]

  15. KONY2012 said

    please check this out today. http://sohowww.nascom.nasa.gov/data/LATEST/current_c3small.mpg . this solar flare is bananas

  16. KONY2012 said

    great site by the way. keep up the great work

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 861 other followers

