Xenophilia (True Strange Stuff)

Blog of the real Xenophilius Lovegood, a slightly mad scientist

iPhone Fix: “Cannot Get Mail – The connection to the server failed” with Exchange Activesync

Posted by Anonymous on December 23, 2010

It seems AT&T has to have your iPhone on the Microsoft Push (aka Enterprise Data) plan.

If you purchased an Unlimited data plan and your iPhone stops working, check that they didn’t slyly switch you to a different smaller data plan. You should be grandfathered in… at the same price. I may have to still argue with them about that. I think mine was $30 for unlimited, a few years ago.

Your Exchange Server may be set up correctly and others may be having now problems. You may be able to set up your account, and that works. After entering your Exchange server information on your iPhone, you see “Configuring Sync” and no error, but  still … you get the “Cannot Get Mail – The connection to the server failed” message.

  • - Call AT&T at 611 from your phone and make sure you have the Enterprise Data plan.  This gives you unlimited email and web data access. Without it, you won’t be able to sync your mail and calendar with Exchange server.
  • - Turn off WiFi.
  • - Delete the Exchange account on your iPhone.
  • - Make sure your cellular network is working, that your browser can connect to http://www.att.com/ttr  while WiFi is turned off.
  • - Re-add your exchange server account. Be sure your username and password are  correct. You should see Configuring Sync, and no errors.
  • - Reset your network settings under Settings | General | Reset | Reset Network Settings. Your phone will reboot.

You should now get email and your calendar items from your Exchange server. I have not seen this fix on the net, but this is what worked for me today.

Here are some links for your Exchange Server Admin if everyone is having problems:

Hints for Exchange server admins: Check the logs to see if your mobile users are getting in: (Default is C:\WINDOWS\system32\LogFiles\W3SVC1). In my case, my iPhone was showing up in the Exchange Server logs as making requests, and Exchange server was set up correctly, but I still could not get email due to my AT&T data plan!

I hope this saves someone hours, days, or even weeks of frustration and work.

11 Responses to “iPhone Fix: “Cannot Get Mail – The connection to the server failed” with Exchange Activesync”

  1. JnJ employee said

    Thanks for the post. Your suggestion to reset the network worked.

  2. Steve said

    I had the same problem. Here’s why. Not too long ago Yahoo asked me to change my password due to a hacking breech. I did so on my laptop. I also needed to change my ‘settings’ on my iphone for mail by updating my password, which was still the old password. Everything worked fine after the reset of iphone password.

  3. Tam said

    Normally I do not learn article on blogs, however
    I wish to say that this write-up very compelled me to try and do so!
    Your writing taste has been amazed me. Thank you, very great article.

  4. Rebecca Robninson said

    Worked for me. Thanks for the help.

  5. Robin said

    Thank you, Thank you, Thank you!!! I reset my yahoo password on my phone and I no longer get the error message about the connection to the server failed.

  6. Larry said

    This is what I did to fix the problem. had to do with OMA…

    http://www.mountainvistatech.com/2013/12/17/iphone-and-exchange-2003-error-cannot-get-mail-the-connection-to-the-server-failed/

  7. billir bridges said

    Cannot receive mail on cell. what are the incoming and outgoing settings I should use? it has been working but now its not
    my number is 205 XXX-XXXX

    • Xeno said

      It is not good to post your phone number or home address in comments on a publicly visible web site as this opens you up to identity theft and a bunch of other trouble. Based on your phone number that you posted (which I X’ed out,) you should contact T-Mobile Mobile in Birmingham, AL.

  8. Gloria Bancroft said

    I cannot use mail. Get “connection to server failed” message. Tried calling 800-318-0612, on hold forever, left message for callback, got callback, told to press 1 when ready to talk. Pushed 1, put on hold forever again. Can’t seem to get help with problem.

  9. Sarwar Ali Khan said

    My iPad is getting this message. Why?

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 906 other followers

