Xenophilia (True Strange Stuff)

Blog of the real Xenophilius Lovegood, a slightly mad scientist

Seven Years Healing Cavities Without Dentists

Posted by Anonymous on February 1, 2009

Don’t get me wrong. A dentist can save your life.  I’m not advocating avoiding dentists. I’m just pointing out that you can heal (all?) dental cavities without a dentist. I’ve healed nine diagnosed cavities which two different dentists said needed fillings.

I just had a full set of dental x-rays and an exploratory exam and I have no cavities. I was expecting some.  Something I did between December 4, 2007 and January 31, 2009 made four cavities vanish. This time I tried Oravive when I had sensitivity in addition to a good diet. I was unable to get NovaMin without the other ingredients in the Oravive toothpaste, so I used it sparingly.

This is the second time involving four different dentists that I have verified this phenomena of healing four of five cavities on my own.  In 2001-2002 I had a similar experience where I started with 10 cavities and healed five cavities after doing some research and following my recommendations here.

How to Get an Independent Opinion

Part of this experiment in self dental care involves some “forgetfulness” on my part. What I mean is, I suspect due to my personal experiences that if one dentist says you have a cavity and a new dentist finds out the previous dentist said this, then you still have the cavity with the new dentist, no matter what the x-rays say, no matter what the exam shows.  In this most recent case, they lost my dental records from 2007 and I forgot to tell them that I had some diagnosed unfilled cavities from my last visit (same office, same x-ray machine, different dentist). Based on a past letter from a dentist, I believe they are concerned that they will be sued for unnecessary drilling, filling and billing.  In the 2001-2002 case, I went to a new dentist in another town and said I had not been to a dentist in years and couldn’t remember the last one. Forgetfulness has gotten me unbiased checkups of my current condition.

For various concrete reasons relating to my own case, I do not believe either dentist was “making up cavities”. I really had them, and really healed them. Remineralization occurred over many months due to diet and anti-bacterial efforts on my part. (See my article.)

Disclaimer: If a cavity is deep, black or painful or if you have any problems with your gums, see a dentist. An infection in your teeth can get into your blood, damage your heart, and kill you. Get regular check ups and find a dentist who uses digital x-rays. They are much sharper and use much less radiation.

10 Responses to “Seven Years Healing Cavities Without Dentists”

  1. Angella Wilson said

    i have 2 small cavities, do you think taking the step that you take will work?

  2. Xeno said

    I’m not a dentist so this is not medical advice, just my 2 cents:

    Depends on where they are, how big, etc. Best to see a dentist and ask if they need to be filled right away or if they can be watched. Let the dentist know you are aware of the bacterial cause of caries (the name for the disease that gives you cavities) and that you understand the need to stop eating sugar so you can re-mineralize your teeth.

    If you get a good dentist they should understand and give you an honest answer. Some are stuck in their ways, most are flouride pushers, and some will even lie about how bad your cavities are to get the money. “Drilling, filling and billing.”

    Good luck.

  3. Claudina said

    Hello,

    Could you please tell me in your experience with tooth decay and as a scientist, if a hole is made in a tooth by the dentist, using his sharp probe, can it still possibly heal on its own? The dentist told me he put a hole through my suspected cavity and essentially broke the enamel. My immediate gut reaction was why did he even use the sharp-pointed probe on delicate and weak enamel? He could’ve used the Diagnodent machine they had and perhaps my enamel never would’ve broken through and therefore, could’ve been healed naturally. Could you please tell me if I should try to heal this tooth on my own first, even with a hole, and could you please explain how you healed your holes, if any, in your own teeth?

    Thank you very much for your advice and your time. I really appreciate all of your information.

    Sincerely,
    Claudina

  4. Cookie said

    “For various concrete reasons relating to my own case, I do not believe either dentist was “making up cavities”. I really had them, and really healed them.”

    WELL, THINK AGAIN!

    • Xeno said

      Ok, I thought again. I reached the same conclusion. I don’t think dentists made up my cavities… It could happen, I guess (how did only that part of my tooth hurt when probed if there was no cavity?) but I think a dentist would risk too much… No need with all the sugar people eat and strep mutans infecting 90% of adults. It is also the most common chronic childhood infectious disease.

      Still, there does seem to be a reluctance by a new dentist to say anything until they get your charts from your past dentist… And I find it suspicious if they call it unethical to contradict each other. Bottom line: shop around.

      Tell a different dentist in a different town that you want an unbiased opinion and a fresh exam. Minimize the X-rays by getting each dentist to give you your X-rays (get the digital kind, less radiation) via email. If they are done right, and they are recent, you can give them to your new dentist and you won’t need more zaps. That’s my test of an honest dentist.

  5. Cookie said

    “For various concrete reasons relating to my own case, I do not believe either dentist was “making up cavities”

    well, think again! They “MAKE UP CAVITIES” All the time. However, I do believe they can be healed on their own with the proper “politically incorrect” nutrition.

    • I can relate said

      haha this is funny. well, i think it can happen. Some cavities are condo payments

      • I can relate said

        I will say though that any cavity that is supposedly internal, not showing on the outside — in that case a patient should at least examine the Xray himself to see it with his own eyes.

  6. RC said

    Thank you so much for all your work and research! I found your site very helpful. Along with all you’ve found to be helpful, I wanted to ask if you’ve ever heard of “oil pulling”? Another site mentioned it. It’s a practice from India. There have been studies that show a definite decrease in S. mutans. Here’s a link: http://www.smartahealth.com/oil_pulling.html

  7. I can relate said

    Wow, you are as obsessed with cavities as I am with gum disease. Oddly, my family seems to enjoy a pretty good immunity to cavities. My sister has never had one, in her baby teeth or her permanent teeth and she is 60-years old. Her teeth are gorgeous. I have had a couple only in my life and they were in my baby teeth. ( I always wondered if our childhood indifference to sugar might provide a clue — as kids we hated any substantial amount of sugar at breakfast for instance. You couldn’t pay us to eat a sugary breakfast cereal, for example, but we did love fruits, or a hot cocoa later in the day, or a chocolate bar later on. Just raw sugars or lots of it — we hated it. Didn’t have to be told)

    For some in my family, gum disease is the terror. Periodontists suspect there is a genetic predisposition because it has attacked two of us aggressively, father and daughter, despite insanely rigorous hygiene. It wasn’t that we practiced poor dental hygiene. It is the stark terror of my life. I would rather be cavity prone than gum disease prone.

    Gum disease has the added terror of being linked to delterious affects on overall health – including heart disease, heart attacks, stroke and, at worst, a direct bacterial infection of a heart valve, which is deadly if not caught and treated quickly.

    I do a lot of the things you do – baking soda, all kinds of promising mouth washes. I was prescribed that powerful mouthwash you wrote about but never asked for a second bottle. It worked but it also stains your teeth and it takes months to get those stains off.

    I use plenty of listerine, but right now I am trying a really great mouthwash called PerioWash with lots of the kinds of herbs that are supposed to fight bacteria that causes gum disease. It is natural. You can find it in health food stores, but its not flaky. I recommend it.

    I bought a waterpick to get into the gum pockets. I use water or sometimes use mouthwash in the reservoir.

    I floss. I brush. I took my toothbrush to work and brush after lunch (now I have a home office so that’s moot)

    I use golden seal powder – expensive stuff.

    Extra cleanings and scraping — they have to scrape the entire root with gum disease with the hope that it will allow the gum to then grab the tooth once the plaque and tarter is gone. they call it scaling.

    Courses of antibiotics have halted it in its tracks when necessary.

    But it has been a losing battle overall. I have slowed it but not stopped it.

    The culprit in gum disease is not S. Mutans, it is a couple of others (at least a couple)– actinobacillus actinomycetemcomitans and porphyromonas gingivalis.

    My latest excursion is probiotics. The problem is the research hasn’t caught up yet. You might be interested to know that there has been some really promising research on probiotics in relation to S. Mutans, so promising that it looks like they’ve finally got the bugger. Look it up.

    But for gum disease the research isn’t there. I am going to try it anyway – I am going to try Culturelle probiotic capsules and chewables. Culturelle contains Lactobacillus GG which is supposed to be really sticky in gut tissue and is used for digestive issues. You might take it if you were taking antibiotics and wanted to maintain healthy bacteria in your stomach. I don’t know if it sticks to gum tissue or teeth as well – it wasn’t developed for that — but I am going to try it. I emailed the company today to ask. They haven’t responded yet.

    A german company (BASF) has come out with a chewing gum with Lactobacillus for fighting gum disease and cavities, so maybe I am not far off. (As far as I know, all the studies of it were focused on cavities – S Mutens)

    Also, Lactobacillus is used in intensive care to prevent pneumonia. Since there is a theory that pneumonia in patients who are sick can be caused by mouth bacteria associated with gum disease (they are breathing it into their lungs from their mouths) and Lactobacillus is preventing it in intensive care units, heck it is worth a try, right?

    I mentioned the Culterelle brand because it was mentioned as the brand used in a legitimate medical study (not company studies, but NIH study) since there are a lot of bogus companies selling bogus probiotics, i was scared to choose just any company.

    Not only are there a lot of bad products out there that don’t contain live bacterias as they claim, but there are different kinds of Lactobacillus, not all of which stick well and colonize. You need them to do that.

    I was surprised to learn too that apparently you can’t count on all yogurt or kefir that claims active cutures to actually have active cultures. that’s a bummer since I have no way of testing it at home. A variety of Lactobacillus bacteria cultures are used in yogurt etc, which I know you know already.

    An article was released this week that was really really interesting. Look it up by googling. It said gum disease appeared thousands of years ago when we stopped being hunter gatherers and started farming – giving lots of people on the neanderthal diet reason to feel they should stay on it. Cavities however, started appearing in a real way starting in the Industrial Revolution and seem to be linked to increased sugar consumption.

    So gum disease goes way back. Looking at that I wonder if I should cut out grains and anything cultivated and eat meat like a carnivorous cave dweller, maybe even get a spear and start hunting squirrels in my neighborhood like some kinda wild animal. I would be competing with my neighbors’ dogs for the squirrels. Adopt the whole lifestyle — will it save my teeth? The dentists aren’t that’s for sure.

    And it’s a bit late actually. I am doing damage control at this point rather than reversal. I gave it my best shot and the best I can hope for is to stave off the rest and save most of my teeth. Some will need to be replaced with implants — there is no doubt. It was fast moving. My periodontist was genuinely surprised even though I warned him. I told him I think it has to be genetic, I told him everything I was doing. He thought nothing either way until he had me as a patient long enough to discover it for himself and he seemed very surprised and declared it had to be genetically predisposed, as if he thought of it himself. He had to determine it for himself, i understood that, but it cost me time. I had to bring him around. and it delayed the antibiotic treatment I already knew I needed pronto.

    Good luck with your quest.

Leave a Reply

 
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 886 other followers

